Orange, Red and Teal Cards with Altenew

Hello!

I made a few cards following the current color scheme from Altenew’s Inspiration Challenge and finally get around posting them here. I have been pretty busy prepping a couple of exciting blog post for February … I get to share the first ones on Saturday and hope you will like them! 🙂

But back to today’s cards! I have to admit, orange is not my friend lol. I don’t really like the color … When crafting I only use it in a very muted shade, on Halloween cards, or in combination with pink on flowers. I actually love when orange and pink watercolors are mixing! Nonetheless, this color combo was a challenge for me – but I like trying out new things and pushing my creative boundries.

For my first card, I was still a little hesitant to use orange and red … So I used Wild Honey Oxide Ink (which is a more yellow orange), Abandonded Coral Oxide Ink for splatters (which has a pink tint) and Picked Raspberry Oxide Ink as my third background color. For my technique, I went with:

LAYERING A SINGLE STENCIL

I used Altenew’s Layered Kaleidoscope Stencil B which is actually part of a layered stencil set – but I used just the single stencil and rotated it in between ink blending with my orange and pink ink. I also used the stencil to add pattern to my die cut “U”.

HERE’S MY FINISHED ORANGE, PINKY RED AND TEAL STENCILED CARD:

layering stencil card with altenew

layering stencil card detail with altenew

After that, I made two more cards. This time I chose a completely different technique:

WATERCOLOR STAMPING WITH MARKERS

I used the solid flower stamps from Altenew’s “Floral Fantasy” set, placed them in my MISTI stamping tool, scribbled on ink from watercolor markers and sprayed a bit of water onto the stamps. Then I stamped onto watercolor cardstock and let the stamps sit on the cardstock for a minute allowing the ink to soak into the paper. I had so much ink left on my flowers that I stamped the remaining ink onto a second cardstock panel. I repeated the process adding more color to certain areas. After everthing was dry I added clear Wink Of Stella over the flowers and some ink splatters for texture.

altenew-floral fantasy-watercolor-stamping 1

For one card, I used a Kraft cardbase and a German label sentiment (saying “Let’s celebrate you”) as well as clear droplets to complete my card design:

altenew-floral fantasy-watercolor-stamping 2

For the other card, I used a red cardbase and the “Hugs” word die from the Script Words die set for my sentiment. I die cut it two times, one from red cardstock and one from white glitter cardstock and layered them on top of each other. Sparkling clear sequins finished off this design:

altenew-floral fantasy-watercolor-stamping 3

I hope you like today’s cards! Thank you for stopping by! ♥

Rosali

If you like this post, be sure to follow my blog via email or Bloglovin’ (buttons are in the sidebar on the right / down below if you’re on a mobile device). ♥

CARD CHALLENGES:

altenew-january-inspiration-card-challenge
http://avenue613.blogspot.com/2019/01/challenge-217-anything-goes-optional.html
https://watercoolerchallenges.blogspot.com/


USED SUPPLIES STENCILED CARD:

Stamps, dies & stencil stenciled card:

Altenew – Bold Caps Alphabet Dies Set
Altenew – Sketchy Cities Abroad Stamp Set
Altenew – Layered Kaleidoscope Stencil B

Stamps & dies watercolor cards:

Altenew – Floral Fantasy Stamp Set
Altenew – German Label Love Stamp Set
Altenew – Script Words Die Set

Paper:

Neenah Solar White (Classic Crest) – 110 lb and 80 lb
Teal Colored Cardstock
Ranger / Tim Holtz – Distress Watercolor Cardstock
Red Colored Cardstock
White Glitter Paper
Kraft Cardstock

Inks:

Ranger / Tim Holtz – Distress Oxide Inks (Wild Honey, Picked Raspberry, Abandoned Coral, Black Soot)
Versafine – Onyx Black Pigment Ink (sentiments)

Other Supplies:

Black Fun Foam
Star Shaped Sequins
MozArt – Watercolor Brush Markers
Pretty Pink Posh – Sparkling Clear Sequins
Pretty Pink Posh – Clear Droplets

 

20 thoughts on “Orange, Red and Teal Cards with Altenew

  1. What lovely cards you’ve created, Rosali! Those Altenew flowers are simply stunning. I love the way you’ve coloured them and added the sparkle. The addition of the water droplets was a brilliant idea. Thanks so much for joining our Watercooler Wednesday Challenge this week.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You’ve created two very eye-catching cards! Just lovely! The watercolor markers + water resulted in soft but vibrant florals. Thanks for joining us at Watercoooler Wednesday.

    Like

  3. Congratulations you are one of this week’s Top Rockers at 613 Avenue Create – don’t forget to pick up your badge.

    Like

  4. Hi me again. Just had to stop by to say your card is just stunning!
    So glad you stopped by at 613 Avenue Create
    Hugs Sheryl xx

    Like

  5. I love orange at the moment! It’s my most favourite fabric colour for matching up with things. I just love the brightness and the summer vibe. Love the stencilling, but your water colouring is amazing!! xx

    Liked by 1 person

Make my day by leaving a comment - in English or German :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.